STRANGERS..AGAIN


The last month of the year December always brings something or the other and makes me think of my journey of life. Today was one such day when I woke up with some unusual feeling characterized by an emotional outbreak. As the day grew old the feelings started to get stronger and were pushing me into an unusual place by adding deeper and deeper shades of darkness. To free my mind of all the biases I decided to take an errand, with a cold wind brushing my face I thought of memories associated with this month. Suddenly to my surprise I could only manage to see a face and thus evincing the magical connection that I had with this day. The memories of pain are still fresh, it was never always about the pain and frankly I couldn’t remember when it was not but surely not always about the pain. She was amazing, my unicorn and a girl I thought existed in dreams. As we moved from one stage to another of the relation, the game of expectations got better of us and we lost it in the midway.

I faintly remember that day after the Christmas celebration when it all happened. Six years back on this very day there was something that was not allowing me to lie down. I was in love or was about to fall in one and thus the reason for all the anxiety. The cake, wine and dinner all were taken care but the feelings in my heart stayed and were trying to find a way out through the words that I was mincing. It was 2am in the night when I received the message from my fairytale’s angel that she has returned from the hospital and was feeling lonely. You all must be wondering where this hospital came from, after the dinner she started vomiting and owing to restrictions of a girl’s hostel I couldn’t accompany her to the hospital. All the time that she spent in the hospital my mind was busy contemplating on my situation and stringing together theories of success and failure of my proposal.

Another message came and she was feeling that nobody loves her and instantly I replied that I love her and reassured her of my presence. Then came perhaps the most beautiful surprise of the night, a message saying I love you too and asking me to remain with her till eternity. Yes technically I had proposed her on simple text message and it was accepted but emotionally those words that I was busy stringing together in a rhyme still lay in my heart and were trying to find a way out. That was the last message exchanged of the night. I remember it was this day of the month when for the maiden time I proposed a beauty and to my utter surprise I was successful at it.

Sometimes in life things happen when you don’t expect them and my story of love was something that proved it right. I still remember our first kiss, the whole aura turned magical when my lips touched hers. Though my eyes were closed but I pictured the expression that we both were having. The warmth of the hug and yes love in its nascent stage was what we were going through. The best part I remember was meeting her and probably thanks to our chemistry teacher who made it impossible for me to copy down the notes so borrowing was the only option left for me. In course of borrowing and returning the copy we became friends and thus started the connection that left a glorious trace on my life. Spending the time with her was perhaps the most beautiful thing. It was pathetic to see guys doing anything to get the right girl and I was no exception. I started to attend lectures and giving up my bike to walk with her all day from one corner to another were few aberrations that happened in my life. From the stage of meeting, we moved on to the chase part and people call it the best part. All I wanted was to talk with her, follow her and wait for her. Every time I saw her there were butterflies in my stomach, she was everything that I could dream of.

After the chase frame we went into the phase where we could express our love to each other and when we completed this stage we had an album of memories together. From the beautiful places we visited to those serene dates with nature, everything was engrossed in our mind and became a 72178_556928984347873_874920998_nsource of our happiness. After the stage of love was over we started to take each other for granted and became complacent in playing our part. The girl who was crazy about me few years ago was the one who lost all the driving forces to be together. On the other hand the boy who once called this girl a dream was dissatisfied but wanted to remain with her. Our relation fell apart and everything came crashing down. There is never a good way to describe a relation which is going through downhill.

We wanted to leave on good mutual terms, if that was ever truly possible. We started on a different path taking us back to the place where we started, STRANGERS. The change was so drastic and blunt that we wanted to get back together immediately but this didn’t happen and distances grew. She moved on and found someone new and thus started the worst part what everyone called suffering. It doesn’t matter whether we get over the past and try to remain friends things will never remain the same. Once in a while she will cross your life again but the burden of the memories will not allow you to live that moment. Our lives will continue on a path leading to a point called STRANGERS AGAIN. Everything we shared has been reduced to fragmented memories. From so long a question if it even really happened?

All that is left is a box of random stuff from a fatal time period when the stranger that I am writing about was the most important person of my life. Those walks are no longer beautiful and those flowers are not blooming with fragrance. The essence of my every errand is missing. Visiting the place where we first met I sit in a corner, I notice a faint me walking past with that jubilant smile. I see a young boy holding hands of a beautiful girl, as I move I see and relive each and every moment spent here….A sudden cry breaks my dream, these moments will never come to sand again…

I think life has separated us, and we will end up in totally different places, I’ll always remember when our paths aligned from the period of time- and I’ll be thankful for that. And hope that, wherever you are, you’ll be thankful too. And I think that’s the best I can wish for if not her.

Leave a Reply

